pilot28906

Well Known Member
I will soon need to order the finish kit for the 7 and according to the form need to make some decisions. Problem is I do not have an engine and will probably go with a mid-time engine or rebuild so the exact engine is unknown. I know I want a 180 HP 360 parallel engine with no more than 8.5:1 comp. ratio and will be using FP prop. Things that are unkown but are on the form are:
1)Vertical or Horizontal induction (which is more common on used engines)?
2)Dynafocal 1, 2, or Conical (again which is most common)?
3) Fuel Injected or Carb. This is a never ending internal debate with me and I would not pass up an engine based on either if it was a good buy when needed.

Which above decisions are easy to change down the road and which are costly and time consuming?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

My thoughts but I am no expert on any of the topics.

#1:
I would think you want horizontal so you can take advantage of ram air to increased performance.

-------------------------
My understanding of #2 is that you want Dynafocal.

Here is some more reading on the difference between 1 and 2, as well, but seems to contradict itself. Sounds like you want type 2 if going with fuel injection (IO vs O).

http://www.experimentalaircraft.info/articles/aircraft-engine-mounts.php

Excerpt from above site:

Conical mounts
This is by far the easiest mount to fabricate. It has four attach points for the engine and usually four points to bolt the mount to the firewall. The mount points are parallel with the firewall, so there is no awkward angle when installing the bolts and shock mounts to the engine. Its all rather straight forward and really easy to do.

A drawback is that vibrations and engine torque are transmitted through the frame so this is not ideal compared to a dynafocal mount.

Dynafocal mounts