SmittysRV

Well Known Member
I've been working now on my RV-9A for five years. My wife retired a while back and my garage work therapy has changed drastically.

Since her former day job was quite a distance away, she usually got home around 7 pm. My job is only 5 miles away, which allowed me to get home by 5 pm. This gave me the opportunity to do RV therapy at lunch and for 2 hours each work day. Weekends were always dedicated to family stuff. "If momma ain't happy", well, you know the rest.

But now I'm having difficulty finding RV building time, trying to avoid "the look" from my wife and son. Today, just for grins, I got up at 5 am as was able to put in almost 3 hours of uninterupted work! Hey, I think I've discovered something!! This means I can work now 7 days a week, without dirty looks! How bout' yous guys?

Hello Smitty.

Sound like you need to find your wife another job.
Not only will you have more building time, but the extra money can be used to buy parts.:)

Kent

I'm not an early riser so my therapy sessions are from 9ish-11ish pm after the boy goes to bed. The wife works nights so she's not there to give me any stink eyes.

I get home about 1.5 hours before my wife on weekdays and am usually able to get in 2 hours of work before I start to feel guilty. I work only half-days on Friday (modified 9/80 week), so I can usually get at least 5 hours or more in on Friday. Depending on our plans, either Saturday or Sunday is dedicated to working on the plane.

See if your job will let you work a 9/80 or 4/10. That will give you a full day every other week, or even every week with the 4/10.

I said something to her one day about getting another job. I'm still paying for that one.... Did I mention she's a former New Yorker???

New Yorkers only become 'former' when they die...