avi8tor50

Well Known Member
To all of you who have fiberglass skills and knowledge:

Time to order fiberglass supplies to start work on all of the various glass tasks that must be done. I plan to start by working on the cowl.
I am trying to compile a list of supplies so I can get most of the basics with one order. I have searched previous threads but would like a "current" list of suggestions as to what I should purchase. Remember, I am a newbie with NO previous fiberglass experience!

Here is what I have gleaned from previous threads:

1 quart West Systems 105 Epoxy
1 pint of 206 hardener
Set of metered pumps (MANDATORY) After getting the pumps, use a Sharpie and mark the halfway point on the stroke of the pumps for smaller quantity use.
Small container of 410 micro filler
1" Wide glass tape 10 yrd pack (if you are going to glass in the tail stuff)
.007 thickness
2" Wide glass tape .007 3yrd pack
3" Wide glass tape .007 2-3yrd packs
Mixing cups
Peel Ply
Small squeeges
205 hardner
Cotton flocking (1/2 lb)
Rotary cutter

As always, any help will be appreciated!

Peter K
9A

Fiberglass Supplies

Peter -

I'm no fiberglass expert, but I can offer a few comments on your list.

A quart kit of West won't go very far. Get a gallon of 105, quart of 206 and a pint of 205.

Don't trust the pumps - they leak down between uses. Partial portions are bad, mkay. Get a scale with 0.01g resolution and mix by weight.

You'll run thru a small container of 401 micro in a very few sessions. I seem to remember buying a pound from Wicks.

Floc comes in handy, 1/2-lb will probably be enough. So does Cab-O-Sil (or fumed silica, depending on who's selling it), probably won't need much.

With a large chunk of glass cloth, you can make your own tapes in whatever width and bias you need. Some prepared tapes have a selvedge edge that won't lay down when applied.