erich weaver

Well Known Member
Patron
I want to fly before painting but it would seem prudent to protect and prepare the fiberglass parts in the meantime. Im a bit overwhelmed by the choices of products and techniques that seem to have been used. Is it acceptable to simply use a primer (PPG K38? Smooth Prime?) to both fill pinholes and prime and leave it at that? Just trying to keep it simple here, not re-ignite a primer war. I noticed on Checkoway's website that he used Smooth Prime on the cowl, but then a separate primer over that. Why - just a color thing?

thanks

E

I went to Sam James forum at OSH. What a great guy. He is fiberglass. Go to his website and get his 2hr video that is good as gold.

tcrv7 said:
I went to Sam James forum at OSH. What a great guy. He is fiberglass. Go to his website and get his 2hr video that is good as gold.

Hi Tom -

I'm an RV newbie - can you give us a link to this fellow's website for the fiberglass video?

I have used polyester glass for my model airplanes (because it sands so well and is compatible with lots of other materials). Do you know what type of glass the Van's folks use? I would assume it is epoxy glass, but I'm new to this game so I'll take all the advise I can get !

Thanks for the posts & all the best. :D

google james aircraft or sam james cowl Idont know how to add a link. Istill type with one finger and do the swirling finger thing to find the letter i want good luck.

The cowling, gear leg and wheel pants are epoxy. You should use epoxy on these parts it is not compatible with polyester resins. You will have to sand and fill all the pin holes before priming. Hours of work and millions of pins holes to fill still after you think you are done. If you fly first and the holes are not filled you run the risk of grease and dirt getting into the holes which will cause you nothing but grief when it come time to paint. Have fun and be thankful that you are not building a glass plane.