638RS

Well Known Member
Does anyone have experience using this specific GPS in their RV? I have read lot about Anywhere map on PDA's and other devices but found little info on the ATC.

I purchased my AWM ATC to serve as a backup for my 296. It has been a rocky road to say the least. Some people say the unit was released in an early beta iteration. It has come a long way since I got my first unit on 5/28/08. I had to return that to Control Vision on 5/30/08 because the screen seized, it stopped working.

IMO the unit is not quite ready for seamless operation. Patience and being technologically savvy are helpful (perhaps essential) qualities if you intend to obtain one now.

The good news eclipses the warts. Although I'm still learning to use it, the screen is large for such a small (PDA) platform. Tech support is outstanding. In fact I would have returned my unit before the 30 day refund period had I not received stellar support. And the price especially w/ the weather function (which I do not have) is sweet. Data updates are released daily and uploaded via your computer.

If you haven't already perused the dedicated web site I suggest you become familiar w/ it. There's a lot of info about the unit there. http://www.anywheremap.com/atc/

If you have specific questions, I'd be glad to try to answer them. My experience w/ this GPS does not mirror others who have had no problems. My intent is not to dunn this product. I just want you to be aware mine has required 'special handling' to coax it to work. Contrast that w/ the light switch ease of my Garmin 296. Yet I am intrigued and continue to use my new ATC GPS.

flyguy152

Thanks for the report on your experience with the ATC.

I have spent a lot of time on their web site and have downloaded the manual and read through it. What the information doesn't tell me is:

1. real world reliability of the system since it is a windows based unit
2. Reliability of the bluetooth interface to drive my Trio autopilot