jmitchell

Well Known Member
Hi all,

I am a Canadian citizen / resident and I am planning on purchasing a vacation home in Arizona. I want to take my RV8 project down there for completion and certification. I would plan on keeping the airplane there long term.

Does anyone know if I would have difficulties registering the aircraft with the FAA as a non-US citizen?

Thanks kindly for any help on this.

Hi all,

I am a Canadian citizen / resident and I am planning on purchasing a vacation home in Arizona. I want to take my RV8 project down there for completion and certification. I would plan on keeping the airplane there long term.

Does anyone know if I would have difficulties registering the aircraft with the FAA as a non-US citizen?

Thanks kindly for any help on this.

I heard of one Briton who registered his RV in a trust.

Sorry... don't know the detail, and don't know how that works.

It's my understanding that you need to be either an American citizen or have a US corporation in order to register the craft in the USA. Note that you will also have to adhere to all the FAA regulations rather than the CARS.

That brings up a couple of more questions:
- Do you need to have an FAA pilot licence rather than a TC licence in order to act as PIC on a US registered craft flying in the USA ... I believe you do.
- If you try to bring the craft back to Canada and re-register it with less than 100 hours then you'll be in the grey never-never land.
- Will you be able to purchase insurance as cheaply in the US as you can for a Canadian craft.

You might want to think about doing the work in the US if convenient, but then returning the craft to Canada for the final inspection, registration and flying off the first 40 hours. After that you should be fine with a Canadian registration and licence flying in either Canada or the US. You might have to spring for a "vacation" for an MD-RA inspector to do a pre-close inspection.