RV7AJeremy

Well Known Member
Engine Purchase Sanity Check---(I got an engine)

Hello all, I am looking for advise/a sanity check for my plan to purchase an engine. Before I make this significant of an investment I want to make sure all my bases are covered since I have never done this before.

Here is the back-story on the engine:
The engine is a Superior Vantage IO-360-B1A2 built by superior in 2007. It is still a 0 hour since factory new. The engine has been stored in a desert climate overseas until last November when it was purchased and moved back to the states and is now in Indiana. The engine was preserved by the factory in 2007 (superior stated that their preservation process was only good for 6 months) and there has been no other entries in the log book since then. The desiccant plugs still look bright blue and when the engine was purchased and brought back to the states last November the cylinders were bore scoped and no signs of corrosion were present.

My plan with the owner is to have an A&P pull two of the cylinders and inspect the cam and crank and the engine in general for corrosion and general condition, we would then have the engine re-preserved as I am still a ways out from finishing up this project. I have also talked with superior and there are no outstanding AD?s or bulletins.

What are the thoughts from the group? Is this an appropriate action to take to ensure that my investment in this engine is safe? What am I missing? Thank you all for your expertise.

Last edited:
Second Opinion

Give Bart at Aerosport Power a call and get his thoughts. He is very helpful.

Engine-omics...

What are the thoughts from the group? Is this an appropriate action to take to ensure that my investment in this engine is safe? What am I missing? Thank you all for your expertise.

Jeremy,