514S

I give what is the secret to mouning the Lycoming engine in the RV9A? I tried following the method posted on this web site and got one top bolt in but could not get the second. So I tried the bottom bolts first. Got the bottom two in but can not get the holes lined up for the top two. Is there a secret to this process? I read people taking an hour or less. After six hours I have two bottom bolts in. In serious need of help again.

514S,
There are several secrets I discovered. I am not a professor on engine installations but I did it solo in couple hours. Secret 1 - start in the morning when you are fresh. Secret 2 - go by the book or by instruction from this site. Secret 3 - sequence important, if next bolt doesn't go, take a walk in the park for 30 minutes then proceed. Secret 4 - tape rubber halves and big washers to the mounts and tape them good.
You will get it, just start well rested.

Last edited:
Well, Vlad makes some good points, but I think the easiest most effective thing to do is to buy tapered pins. Basically they're tapered bolts with the heads cut off (they look like bullets).

When I installed my engine I didn't use them and it was a pain lining up the holes! They were close, but off by maybe a 1/4-inch. Very frustrating. It took several hours to get the engine mounted.

A friend of mine mounted his with the help of an A&P who had the tapered pins...took them all of 1/2-hour to do everything.

Well, Vlad makes some good points, but I think the easiest most effective thing to do is to buy tapered pins. Basically they're tapered bolts with the heads cut off (they look like bullets).

When I installed my engine I didn't use them and it was a pain lining up the holes! They were close, but off by maybe a 1/4-inch. Very frustrating. It took several hours to get the engine mounted.

A friend of mine mounted his with the help of an A&P who had the tapered pins...took them all of 1/2-hour to do everything.