joeboisselle

Well Known Member
Ok, I've been gathering parts together to build an o-360-a1a, for the last several months, and I think I've got everything. Crank was overhauled, ground .003, renitrided, cad plated etc. So I bought oversized bearings and attached the connecting rods last night and everything worked fine. Tonight I closed up the case with cam, crank and tappets inside. As I started to tighten up the bolts on the top and bottom of the case, I noticed the crank would no longer move. My first thought was perhaps the crank wasn't ground .003 and the oversize bearings were the cause. But why would the case bearings be tight and the rod bearings be fine if both were .003 over???

Next, I see small holes inside the case, pointing out twards each cylinder. I assume these are supposed to be for piston cooling oil jets. The only -360 model I can find with these jets is the vo-360-b1a. Should I find and install the jets, or can I just plug them off? :confused:
Thanks in advance for any help.

That's what I'm seein'! I'm always up for good lubrication inside an engine and more is better in my opinion... where'd you find your nozzles at?
I don't recall what diameter the thread was, but it was fairly thin. Hard to imagine that, or even .003 oversize bearings would seize it up as tight as it was.

Last edited:
Ordered them from Mattituck. Part number is: 73772 -- and they're about 18 bucks a piece..

PS. Did you check if your main front bearing moved during assembly? Was it lined up properly and engaged dowel pins?

who did your case, was it lined bored? Is the cam tight? If your mains are binding, and the mains and bearing measure out then could it be your deck height?

Last edited:
Thanks for the number. And it looks like everything is set in place, the bearing didn't appear to be sitting on top of the dowel pins.

c177tx said: