jimbo

Well Known Member
Patron
The Cyl #3 aft baffle, part CB-907A, is a b.... to put in place. What do people do, remove the cyl 3 fuel line first? or any tips out there? Maybe this is another of those rights of passage things.

Also, once in place I really don't want to keep removing and re-installing it to trim the top for the contour of the cowling. Has anyone had luck with trimming in place? If so what tools have they used (I'm thinking compressed air shears, or hack saw then plenty of filing).

I'm just getting started on this baffling job and any tips would be appreciated.

Jim
RV9A
0320 w/ Vans baffle kit

Last edited:
Jim,

Not sure what fuel line you're referring to, but you should remove the oil drain line from #3 cylinder and also remove the oil filler tube. Unscrew the tube and stuff a clean rag down the hole. This should help you fit the rear baffle behind #3 cylinder.

Most folks add an AN960 flat washer as a shim in between the cylinder fins and the baffle at the screw that attaches the baffle to the engine. This gives a little spacing between this baffle part and the rear of the #3 cylinder and supposedly helps keep #3 cylinder a little cooler. Fitting the baffles can be frustrating, but it'll all work out. Good baffling! :)

Last edited:
On to the second part of your question: you can probably do most of your trimming in place with a pair of hand shears (initially). You're looking for about ?" of clearance or slightly less. Use your finger-width gauge and feel between the baffle and the top cowl. You will probably have to pull the parts off a few times to get everything cleaned up and then etched and alodined, etc. It gets easier each time. Anyway, that's the way I did it but there are many variations.