billdianne

Patron
I'm building a RV8

I just completed the right elevator. When rolling the leading edge I was told the top leading edge should overlap the bottom to prevent water from entering the elevator. The plans also show this. In order to do this the longer edge of the skin should be on top so it can be rollover the top of the bottom skin, but my skin has the longer edge on the bottom causing the gap to be facing up instead of down. Has anybody else had this problem? Is it a problem or should I just continue and accept the snickers when people notice and point it out. I really don't want to replace the skin if I don't have to even thou I am an expert in drilling out rivets.

I checked the left elevator skin and and it has the longer edge on top it appears as if the right skin was bent in the wrong direction at the factory.

your comment's are appreciated.

Bill RV8

As long as the top overlaps the bottom, you should be ok. It will not be possible to see the leading edge seam when the elevator is mounted to the HS. Do you have any pictures of the seams? I don't recall any size difference between the two, but my memory is not improving with age!

billdianne said:
I'm building a RV8

I just completed the right elevator. When rolling the leading edge I was told the top leading edge should overlap the bottom to prevent water from entering the elevator. The plans also show this. In order to do this the longer edge of the skin should be on top so it can be rollover the top of the bottom skin, but my skin has the longer edge on the bottom causing the gap to be facing up instead of down. Has anybody else had this problem? Is it a problem or should I just continue and accept the snickers when people notice and point it out. I really don't want to replace the skin if I don't have to even thou I am an expert in drilling out rivets.