Freebird

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting. I bought an -6 this last summer and have started a long list of upgrades including fancy glass panel, redoing most the electrical system, electric flaps, and electric trim. I'll be sharing the other parts soon, but today I'm hoping to get some advice on converting from manual to electric trim in the RV-6.

I know Vans sells a kit that involves installing the servo inside the elevator and requires rebalancing. Does anyone know what all is involved in this conversion. I have seen other conversions with the Gretz kit, but those kits don't seem to be available anymore.

Also looking for a kit to convert the manual aileron trim to electric. I already have one Ray Allen servo, can I make the rest myself?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

Brian,

We recently converted an RV-8 from manual to electric trim. Definitely get the Van's kit for this as well as the one for the electric aileron trim. It will save a lot of work. You'll have to pull the manual trim cable out through the back end but this will allow a route for the wires for the electric trim motor in the elevator. For the electric flaps, I recommend that you wire it so that the flap motor shuts off automatically when the flaps are up. I have a post on my web site that explains why you should do this. So if you go this route your flap switch should be spring-loaded down and fixed position up. That way when raising the flaps you can just flip the switch up and the flap motor will stop when flaps reach full up.

The most difficult part really is figuring out how you'll be wiring everything: whether on the grip, the panel, and how you'll be routing the wires, especially those coming from your grip. You may need a couple of reversing relays. Anyway, I would take a read of the blogs on my web page below for some of the issues involved. Let me know if I can help.

RE: Electric Elev Trim RV6