dnimigon

Just getting back to my build again after a long break. Amazing how work interferes with fun time. Anyway going to thinking seriously about the panel end of things. I know there is a lot of info out there on the new glass panels with all the fancy gadgets but I'm just looking for some simple easy to maintain VFR panel. Would like to go glass and am on limited budget. Is there a write up someplace for a guy to get his feet wet and understand what is really needed and where to start

I think the answer is that there are no easy answers; if there were, there wouldn't be so many choices. If your mission is strictly day vfr, there are NO requirements. Take a look at the GRT "mini" series, or the Dynon D-6 or -10; are they adequate for your mission? You need to ask yourself things like, do you want an autopilot? Do you want a CDI for nav use? etc.

Well, the EFIS systems are on about their third generation since I started studying them, so it's a work in process. I had a good education from an Aerotronics sales rep when I asked the newbie question "What's the best EFIS system". The answer was "Best for what?" He gave me a 3 hour demo and education for which I'm very grateful. Since then, one minor player has exited the business, another two have merged, and a big one has entered the experimental market.
I would suggest reading all of Stein Bruch's articles in back issues of Kitplanes to get a good grounding on the features and issues. Some of these are few years old now, hopefully Stein will produce some updated ones for future issues.

You're not asking an easy question! It's a little like primer or not....