Chappyd

Well Known Member
Are you happy with your ECI engines? I'm ready to make an engine purchase. I've been shopping around for a couple of months now, and am somewhat overwhelmed by the choices. ECI looks like a good buy for the money IOX-360 can be had with a dual mag set-up for about 20K. I also have a line on a used IO-360 Angle valve engine for about 16K. It would come with a governor and alternator, has about 400 smoh in 1992. The seller guarantees the engine to be good or I can have my money back. It's also a certified engine. The logs look good, even though there's not a lot of time in use smoh. Compressions were at mid 70's all around as of last year's annual. Even if he backs that guarantee up, the potential is there for things not to go right. I'd love to have a 200 hp engine, and this one is tugging at me. A new 200 hp of any flavor is simply beyond my budget, mid 30K and up.

An ECI would still cost me more, but it would be new too.

Opinions, thoughts?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm Happy...

I thought this was an important item to buy new. I like knowing the history, the break-in the maintenance etc.. I went with the ECI 180hp which I wanted anyway to keep the lighter weight on the nose gear (you can almost by new 180 for the price of a used 200).

Three years and almost 700hrs later and she still runs like a scalded dog with 0 problems to date. I run her around 55-65% power average most of the time (lean of peak mostly), change the oil at 25 hrs and the oil filter every other oil change (50hrs on the filter). I guess only time will tell but so far I couldn't be happier :D

620 hours on my all-ECI component TMX-360 built by Mattituck, and very, very happy with it - good performance, no worries.

Paul