gpblair

Hello All,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Grant and I currently live in Newfoundland, Canada. I have recently received my brand new RV-7 empennage. I am a first time builder with very little metal working experience at all. I have assisted briefly in some riveting and of course am trying to make use of the wealth of knowledge available on the internet. My question is, do you feel that the expense of traveling a great distance to attend one of the EAA Sportair Workshops is a good investment? Or should I just get a practice kit a figure it out myself? Maybe I should just dive right in and learn as I go. My initial thought, after looking through the tail kit is to take one of the workshops...I would appreciate opinions.

Thanks very much,
Grant

EAA workshop

Grant,
I attended an RV building workshop before I started on my kit. I'm now almost finished with the wings. The workshop was an extremely valuable experience. It's one thing to read about the metalworking techniques you need, and quite another to actually try them. The immediate feedback from experts gave me a lot of knowledge that I would otherwise probably still be working to accumulate. You also have the opportunity to ask a multitude of questions that you might otherwise end up calling Van's to ask. I understand that you would have to do some traveling to get to a workshop, but if you can do it I don't think you will ever regret it. Short of going to a workshop, find someone who's built a metal airplane before and arrange a few hours of tutoring to learn the basics. A little training will make your building experience much more enjoyable and safe.

-Bruce

Hi Grant,