Guy Prevost

Well Known Member
I just learned a few things complements of EAA and thought I would pass them on. I was glancing over the latest issue of the EAA Experimenter in my email. In the past I had written off the building tip videos they routinely produce as not being terribly useful--after all, I'm a builder with a complete and reliable RV as well as a mechanical engineer specializing in aero-structures--what could I learn from an EAA video for noobs? As it turns out, quite a bit! The video that caught my eye really didn't contain any new information for me, but the links below certainly did. I learned a bit more about the crush washers that go in the oil screen that I didn't know i had for the first year of flight. I learned about DIY Hydroforming! :D Basically, I was trapped watching videos for an hour or so and know more about maintaining my RV now. Very Cool!

On a related note despite the recent mumbling about how terrible Sport Aviation is, I really enjoyed the article about the $3M TBM. I love all airplanes and think that would be neat if I had the mission and the funds to justify such a machine next to the RV. I also read about a family and how they are using an airplane project as a way to spend quality and educational time together--there's a photo of a 3 year old girl hammering a rib around a form; How cool is that!?!

On the very next page there's an article about an RV-8, it's usefulness as a time machine, and it's ability to create wonderful memories within the context of a 43 year marriage. Again, I think that's cool. I intend to follow suit. Jane Plane, our RV, is woven into the structure of my wife's and my relationship. The memories shared and character built will likely long outlast any of the aluminum.

There are articles about cool old helicopters, scratch built cub knockoffs in which many of the parts were scrounged or traded, and on and on. It seems very grass roots to me. I certainly didn't scrounge to that level on my project.