DragonflyAero

Well Known Member
Soliciting anyone's thoughts on the relative merits and/or disadvantages of Dynon's Skyview system versus the Garmin G3X. I am still quite a way off from needing avionics but have started initial research. I will be starting the wings soon. Will I need to decide on a pitot at this point?

Soliciting anyone's thoughts on the relative merits and/or disadvantages of Dynon's Skyview system versus the Garmin G3X. I am still quite a way off from needing avionics but have started initial research. I will be starting the wings soon. Will I need to decide on a pitot at this point?

For a starter do an advanced search on "skyview g3x" and read the 51 returned posts. There has been a lot of good info already written.

I can't speak much for the G3X system, but I have a lot of experience from Dynon. The installation of the Dynon, especially if you couple it with the VP-X, is definitely a DIY system. If you are planning on flying VFR, then your panel can be completely (or almost completely) Dynon, with their COM radio, intercom, transponder, GPS, ADS-B, Engine Monitor, Auto Pilot, etc. The graphics and the functionality of the system is fantastic, although I think this could probably be said of all 4 of the main players (AFS, Dynon, G3X and GRT). Their auto pilot now has advanced features like glideslope coupling, etc, but this can also be said for all of the 4. I think I would recommend getting a flight in a plane with both options and deciding for yourself which you like the best. I personally like the more eye-oriented screen of the dynon, but if you split the screen to PFD and Moving Map, then it ends up much like 2 G3X screens, except with no space between them. I find that when I am coming into the vicinity of the airport, I like to go into full screen PFD, which gives you a full 10" of synthetic vision, which shows the runway, traffic, obstacles, etc. You really need to price out both options with the full panel included, then list the fea