Geico266

Well Known Member
I'm thinking of getting a dynamic balancer as I do a lot of of it with the planes I'm involved with. Normally, I hire it done, but I have to be there anyway to run the plane so why shouldn't I just bite the bullet and buy one?

Anyone know anything about these guys?

http://www.rpxtech.com/rpxweb/dynavibe.aspx

questions about dynamic balancing

I had mine balanced but due to the airport elevation and density altitude and fixed pitch prop I could only get 2150 rpm static during the balancing process. We added weights to balance at that RPM. How will that effect the balance at higher RPMs? During flight it felt worse to me at higher rpm than at 2150. To be honest, I'm not sure I could tell a difference at any rpm.

I fly jets for a living and any 4 banger feels like its going to shake itself off of the motor mount to me.

Should the difference be obvious? or should I just trust the equipment?

Chris Murphy
0-320 RV-4

I had mine balanced but due to the airport elevation and density altitude and fixed pitch prop I could only get 2150 rpm static during the balancing process. We added weights to balance at that RPM. How will that effect the balance at higher RPMs? During flight it felt worse to me at higher rpm than at 2150. To be honest, I'm not sure I could tell a difference at any rpm.

I fly jets for a living and any 4 banger feels like its going to shake itself off of the motor mount to me.

Should the difference be obvious? or should I just trust the equipment?

Chris Murphy
0-320 RV-4

Most of the time the static RPM is good enough. You should be good to go, but you may have different vibrations at higher cruise RPM. I wonder if you can fly with the balancer on?

No, it's not gonna be as smooth as a jet. ;)

Balance Props

I balance about 100 props a year. All PT6s though. We use the Honeywell (used to be Chadwick-Helmuth) Vibrex 2000. Works pretty well, but a newer unit like the one you're looking at probably has a nicer PC interface.