Guy Prevost

Well Known Member
Now that I have the engine and panel in hand, I just purchased builder's risk insurance. At the same time I was informed by my agent that since I'm a low time pilot AIG would require 15 hours of dual instruction in an "a" model RV. It would only be 10 hours if I had 250 hours total time by then. I'm guessing that other insurance companies will require a similar amount of time.

The only person I've found offering dual in a nosegear RV is Mike Seager up in Oregon. Does anyone else know of a CFI giving instruction in nosegear RV's?

As an aside, apparantly AIG requires more dual instruction in RV-8s and 8a's than in the other RVs. Bummer.

Thanks for the help.

Check this

Hi Guy,
There are about 7 of us in the US. Visit www.safeair1.com and scroll down to near the bottom to "RV Transition training", then click on the appropriate windsock, near you. I'm in Georgia. There are sites for most of us there, hosted by Safeair.

BTW, Falcon is much more lenient than AIG. 5 hours or so and I've had other -8A drivers through here recently. Aig didn't want to insure another builder until he had flown 10 hours in his airplane...the time he needs it most!

Falcon insures from hour 1. Call them at 866 647 4322 and tell them I sent you.

Regards,

Pierre Smith

I spent two days last week with Pierre. He was excellent and I highly recommend his skills. Very patient and extremely knowledgeable. His 6A is 180hp and flies great. Plus, Georgia is nice this time of year. You'll also learn everything you ever wanted to know about crop dusting since he does that for his real living.

My quote through Falcon came in at $2640. I have just under 500 hours and neither AIG or EAA Global required any dual or transition training probably because I am actively flying. EAA was a little more expensive by $102/yr but they cover you fully from first flight if you are an EAA member and have been using a tech councilor. Give Larry a call there at 866-750-8722.