tomhanaway

Well Known Member
Working my way through Nuckoll's Z-13 wiring diagram.
I'm building an 8-a VFR with single battery, single alternator.

I'm not excited about the use of his "always hot" main bus because of the additional wire runs it would create from the buss mounted close to the rear mounted battery and difficulty accessing fuses for those wires.

I'd like to run all electrical busses from the always hot side of the starter solenoid (always hot when master solenoid is hot).

Given this scenario, it seems that the really significant system weakness is the failure of the master solenoid. I was thinking that a second master solenoid, with a separate wire and switch, wired in parallel at the battery, would address this issue.

Does this make sense or am I missing something obvious (or not so obvious)?

Thanks,
Tom H.

Last edited:
proactive replacement

Imo, the classic/Nuckols design is a good balance of simple and reliable.

I have a single master, single starter solenoid (the one on the starter). Knowing what it does to you when the master fails - open or closed - I replace mine with commercial quality White Rodgers every 3 years, as I do the alternator (Nippon/Suzuki). Never had one fail in 14+ years.

Follow up thought on simplicity versus redundancy. The absolutely wonderful thing about our EAB world is that we can do either. I've tried both and now always go with simplicity. My concern is having something fail on a trip. (Non life threatening situation. E.g. partial electrical failure in VFR conditions.)