Michael Burbidge

Well Known Member
Unfortunately I did not give enough thought to where I want my antennas before putting together the center fuselage section. I would like to install my transponder and COM antenna under the baggage floor on opposite sides.

To do this I need to drill wire run holes in two of the baggage ribs. I think the holes will need to be 1/2 - 5/8 inch in diameter. I have a 90 degree angle drill but can only get bits up to a 1/4 inch for that drill.

My unibit and regular air drill will not fit between the ribs.

Are the any suggestions as to how I might drill wire run holes in already installed baggage ribs? Do they make larger than 1/4 inch bits for the 90 degree angle drills?

Thanks,
Michael-

custom tooling

I have a "blair cutter". It is a small hole saw used for cutting out spot welds. The cutting bits are different size and use a 5/16 dia. something to thread to the arbor. The arbor has a 1/8" hole for the pilot shank. To make the tooling (special arbor);
1 select a bolt with the same thread as the cutter
2 clamp a piece of (wet) wood to the drill press table and drill for the bolt size (5/16")
3 put the bolt in the hole and drill 1/8" for the pilot. go all the way through if it is drilling true.
4 drill part way through number 3 (I think for 1/4-28 tap) and tap part way. The head needs to come off the bolt sometime as well
5 super glue an 1/8" bit shank into the pilot hole
6 screw a short piece of 1/4 28 all thread into the other end
Drill a pilot where you want your hole, cause now you have a 90 degree collet hole saw adapter.
Hope you follow, P.M. me if you would like to talk.

Andrew
AP IA
-9 preview

Last edited:
Are the any suggestions as to how I might drill wire run holes in already installed baggage ribs? Do they make larger than 1/4 inch bits for the 90 degree angle drills?

I made the same mistake. The countersink bits will screw into the the angle drill - so I 'countersunk' my way through the one hole I needed.