CharlieWaffles

Well Known Member
So I realized I should have enlarged the tooling/conduit holes in my right wing so I can run my AOA tubing through some bushings rather than take up room in my flex conduit. But the ribs are already riveted to the main spar, so I can't drill the hole larger (7/16") with a normal unibit. I have a 90 degree drill adapter, but it wont chuck the large unibit, and I dont see any threaded base 7/16" drill bits available for it either. So other than finding a REALLY long drill bit at home depot that I could plunge all the way through all the ribs from one side, any ideas?

Basically, you can see in this picture, the bushings I want to be able to install in my other wing as well as the un-enlarged tooling hole.

http://myrv10factory.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/img_0901.jpg

Unibit

Suggest a smaller Unibit. The 1/2" size should fit. I've used this size in a 3/8" right angle cordless drill (Milwaukee or Bosch 12V) in some real tight spots.

Good luck,
Mike

extensions available

Check at the tool dept. in your local lumber yards, home depot etc. you can find drill extensions in many different lengths. They work like this, one end has a hole for your unibit and two allens that secure it and the other end chucks up to your drill. Maybe you can give that a try. I would think that you would need and extension just long enough to get through the root where the doublers are and after that an air drill and unibit should get the rest. Just a thought.

good luck,

bird

That'l work

Check at the tool dept. in your local lumber yards, home depot etc. you can find drill extensions in many different lengths. They work like this, one end has a hole for your unibit and two allens that secure it and the other end chucks up to your drill. Maybe you can give that a try. I would think that you would need and extension just long enough to get through the root where the doublers are and after that an air drill and unibit should get the rest. Just a thought.