777Dave

Well Known Member
Did my first rolls and loops on the weekend having read Van's basic instructions published in RVator several years back... could it be that easy?
I had practised pull ups to 25-30 degrees and rapid rolls from 45 to 45 and finally figured I was mentally ready so.... All I can say is what a blast and why did I wait?
Loops were slightly more daunting so more discussion with an expert... but same result! What a great little airplane! What more can I say. A person could get hooked this stuff! ;)

Did my first rolls and loops on the weekend having read Van's basic instructions published in RVator several years back... could it be that easy?
Dave - if I interpret your message correctly, you don't have previous aerobatic experience. While I understand your enthusiasm, please understand that there are several ways that manoeuvres can get screwed up, and the pilot's natural response can lead to big problems.

RVs are not the best machine for self-taught aerobatics. They are so clean, that if you screw up and get the nose pointed down, the speed will build very quickly, and a very large overspeed is the result. Couple that with low wing loading, light stick forces, and you may pull too hard and over-g the airplane.

You also want to be very comfortable with spin recoveries, as a screwed up manoeuvre could result in a spin. These are usually upright spins, but inverted spins are possible too, even in RVs.

Please, please find an experienced aerobatic guy to show you the ropes.

Hi Dave

RVs are not the best machine for self-taught aerobatics. They are so clean, that if you screw up and get the nose pointed down, the speed will build very quickly, and a very large overspeed is the result.

Kevin has very valid points, Dave. Yes, you can easily do aerobatics in RV's, you can also make a sizable hole in the ground....there's quite a bit of precedence there, by other unfortunate souls.