Sid Lambert

Well Known Member
I'm in the process of rebuilding my O-320 and have a question for you guys..

Why do I need to put the tach drive back in the engine? I have 1 EI and 1 mag but the RPM is read from the P-lead on the mag. It's always just had a cover over it. Seems like just something else that can break.

I am new to aircraft engines, but have automotive experience. There appears to be no reason why the tach drive be installed, assuming you safety the cap. Without the tach drive and it's seal, you could theoretically lose oil quickly from that opening. With the tach drive and seal installed, a missing cap would cause a slow leak.

I will be installing it on my O-320 rebuild just in case I need it in the future or possibly sell the engine for an upgrade.

Larry

With the tach drive and seal installed, a missing cap would cause a slow leak.

Actually the cap is only a dust cover. With the tach drive and seal installed, there should be no leaks at all.

As usual, Mel is correct!

You need both the tack drive AND the cap installed.

A friend left out the drive and just put the cap on and it turns out the Lycomings have an oil squirter that lubricates the tach drive. Without that drive in place, it just squirts oil out the breather tube.

Last edited:
Oil passage to tach drive

I've looked and looked for a oil passage or oil squirter on the tach drive shaft and can't find one on my O-320. Anyone know where it is?
Thanks

I am rebuilding an O-320 right now. There is definitely no squirter on the accy case. My block just came back from the shop yesterday. Next week I'll look and tell you if there is one. However my tach shaft if shielded to avoid liquid oil getting to the breather (i.e. getting splashed from the gears.

Larry

Tach Drive