flymustangs

Well Known Member
I'm "working" on an RV-3 and have once again become disenchanted with the project. This is not my first attempt at an RV, I've worked on an RV-4 and an RV-8 in the past. It happened much quicker with the RV-3 and I think that is mostly because of the plans. I knew that the RV-3 plans were probably not the best, but these should be embarrassing to Vans. I'm also aware that there is no financial advantage for Vans to redo the plans or to restructure the kit to a pre-punch.

Yes, many people have successfully completed these. Maybe their tolerance for frustration is higher than mine. This now has me questioning my decision to build an RV-3 and a single place for that matter. I didn't make this decision overnight. I studied on it a long time, almost buying a completed RV-3 at one point. You may recall the statement from Vans regarding wing fuel and aerobatic gross weight. I was pretty much the catalyst that started that chain. Randy Lervold was finally able to get the definitive answer from Vans.

I'm sure I could come up with some other Van's bashing, but that doesn't help and doesn't solve my problem. What have others out there done when they find themselves in this situation? Maybe I was just never destined to build an aircraft. I finally bought a flying Glastar when I sold my RV-8 kit and realized how spendy the finished RV-8's were. I love the Glastar, but have always liked the RV's. I figured if I built an RV-3 I could afford to have the best of both worlds.

I sincerely apologize for the rambling. I think I will coin a new term for people like me. Instead of repeat offender for people that have actually completed more than one of these, how about offensive repeater for people that have started more than one, but never finished?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Ken,