kritsher

Well Known Member
Please forgive another newbie question... I'm just getting started on my -7 empannage.

A couple months ago, as I was contemplating the purchase of my tailkit, I took a great Intro to RV Building Techniques class. The teacher was great... A real stickler for detail on tasks like... deburring.

He taught me to use a vixen file to remove any and all tool marks and to round over the edges of all parts until they were smooth to the touch. Only then did he take the parts up to the ScothBrite wheel for just the lightest touch to take off the file marks.

I've been doing the same thing faithfully on my kit. Frankly, it's starting to get old. Today, I took a scrap part up to the ScotchBrite wheel without bothering with the vixen file or anything else first. After a few passes, the edge looked great. I had to do a couple extra passes becuase I could still see traces of the shear marks after the first couple of passes, but in the end I couldn't tell the difference between the parts I did the tedious way and the parts I took straight to the wheel.

So... my question is... what gives? Is Scotchbrite straight out of the parts box adequate? Or do I need to keep doing it the hard way? What other techniques are out there?

Thanks

I'm probably doing it wrong, so my advice is to not listen to me (so why am I replying? Who knows). Anyway, I take almost every part to the 3M wheel. First I smooth down the edge to remove any marks...then I do one or two passes on each side to remove a ridge, even if no ridge exists. Always comes out smooth.

The only hard part to me is getting in those little nooks & cranny's that can't be reached with the 3M wheel...if it's small, I use a cordless dremel with a scotchbrite wheel. If it's big I mix it up...sometimes use a vixen file then a scotchbrite pad...sometimes maybe just a scotchbrite pad.

That little "V" edge deburring tool sucks, by the way...in my opinion it doesn't work. Anyway, just my 2 cents.