15777958994_4b42f30da3.jpg

I am still relatively new to this thing called "RV building", and currently am deep in the throes of a major deburring session, deburring all the parts in my kit's tailcone aft fuselage - all at the same time. Can you say "monotony"???

I really don't mind deburring the long, straight edges of most parts, such as skin edges, etc. However, when it comes to hours of non-stop nook and cranny deburring, I think I would more enjoy slowly pulling one of my fingernails off with a pair of needle-nose pliers.

So I have three questions:

1. Prior to deburring the nooks and crannies, you can clearly see and feel their edge rawness, primarily on one side of the part. Is its removal really necessary, and if so, is it to prevent stress cracking, or simply to prevent the part from damaging other parts, wiring, human skin, etc.?

2. How much deburring is good enough? After a 3 hour session tonight deburring the nooks and crannies on only a small stack of parts using a tiny, fine needle file, I fear I may be spending way too much time trying to build that "swiss watch". Sure, this effort may reduce the risk of stress cracking, but it brings the risk to absolute zero if I never get the project done and never fly the darn thing!

Perhaps the best unit of measure may be how long it should take to properly deburr an "average" single nook or cranny. Are we talking a few seconds or a few minutes. With the million or so crannies in an RV (okay, maybe thousands), that difference may mean a year in total project build time. No kidding.

3. What tool or technique provides good nook and cranny deburring with relatively good speed?

Thanks in advance for your opinions...

Last edited: