WingnutWick

Well Known Member
Hello all.

I have recently purchased a Dynon D1A and a D10EMS for my RV-8 and am looking to make a new panel. I am a relatively new airplane owner and am learning the intricacies of working on it as I go. That being said I am totally new to the prospect of creating a panel. I have the plank sheet metal panel from VANS, and my question is how do I cut this for the instruments? Do most people just send it in to get laser cut or is one able to do it themselves with relative ease? Finally, what type of paint is used and how do people go about making markings/text on the panel.

Thank you for the help!

Wingnut

PS: Any ballpark cost estimate if I just paid someone to do it?

Hi Charles!

welcome to the club :)

You can send it out or do it yourself. Had you not already bought a blank from Vans I would have suggested you buy two. Doing it yourself can be rewarding but it's easy to make a mistake and having the 2nd blank takes some of the self loathing out of the process ... I have experience.

I cut square holes using a cut off disk in a die grinder. I cut the big round holes with a fly cutter. I cut the smaller round holes with a uni-bit.

Do a full size layout before you start. Also, if you can, do the die grinder cuts from the back side.

Doing your own panel is a great project. Do lots of planning. Take your time.

Last edited:
Of course you can do it yourself (many of us have in the past, and many continue to do so in the future). It just takes some patience and a minimal set of tools. That said, you can easily farm it out - for example, we cut dozens of panels per month for folks, and depending on how much "work" you need (if you need a layout designed, or CAD work or whatever), the price can be a couple hundred bucks or so to have your panel cut. We keep the Vans blanks in stock to save you on shipping us a new one as well (or you can ship us yours or trade us later).