hi all,
i'm only fairly new to the rv and i've only just started riveting the horizontal stabiliser skin to ribs and i'm encountering problems with my countersunk riveting, I did the first one ok, but now on the second & third i reckon i've probably drilled out and re-riveted them about 10 times, they are just not sitting straight & flush, everytime I drive them they end up sitting up.
this has been doing my head in to a point where i haven't worked on it for a month, any suggestions would be great,
heres a few pics,
IMG_2044.JPG

IMG_2045.JPG

IMG_2046.JPG

Thanks

taran

Clamp

Hi Taran,

It would help to know which riveting technique you used here, but based on the parts, I guess you're using a rivet gun with mushroom head + bucking bar.

I think what you see is because your parts were allowed to move during riveting. I would anchor/clamp the assembly to the bench so that when you push on the skin with your gun, it stays in place. Also, don't push hard on the bucking bar, just prevent it from bouncing laterally out of the shop head you're forming.

You should try to find some videos on the net (there are many available, starting by the EAA website) that demonstrate the proper riveting techniques, I can tell you that it really helps. I NEVER had used a rivet gun or squeezer before starting my project and looking at these videos gave me much more confidence.
Hope this helps and don't give up, you'll be an "expert" soon.

square to the job

Hi Taran,

Looks to me that you may not be holding the gun square to the job, when you rivet do you see a slight mark next to the rivet, if so this indicates that your gun isn't square to the job, the hitting force is being delivered next to the rivet instead of into it. It may take a few rivets to get your eye in to square the gun up, if you have a rivet helper they might be able to help sight the gun up before riveting.

Cheers,

Gday Taran,

Are you riveting by yourself?