mdredmond

Well Known Member
Ugh. I've had this kit for four years but I'm still a beginner. Forgive, please.

Countersinking horizontal stabilizer spar flanges. Everything is great except that on the outboard hole on the rear spar, the cage slipped a bit and I countersunk too deep. The hole isn't visibly enlarged, but the countersink goes deep enough that there is a sharp inside edge.

My primary concern is safety but even if it's safe, if there will be cosmetic consequences (ripple in skin, for example) I'd rather replace the spar than not.

I've e-mailed Van's but can any of you comment on this?

Thanks!

Youd have to ask Vans, but what about clecoing the skin on with a bonding filler inbetween. When it has set , you rivet? Almost a shim , but only in the countersink?

I'll bet you're going to be fine..

I'm guessing this is for the AN426-AD3 rivets??? The ones that hold the skin to the spar?

If so, you might be able to drill the hole out to a #30. If you have an oops rivet (1/8" Rivet - with a 3/32" rivet head) you can pop it in and no one will tell the difference.

Another option is to go ahead and make it a regular 1/8" rivet. No one will ever notice and if you're paranoid that they will, you can put some filler around the rivet and sand. That'll remove all visible references around that hole.

Phil

Go with Phil's answer.

Not one person will notice a 1/8' rivet.
If they do, and ask you about it, your answer should be, "Didn't you do yours that way?"
BTW, Use a 1/8" at the same place on the other side just for symmetry.

Matt,

Since you are building a real RV-9 and not the training version, I'll let you in on a little tip.

I used AN426AD4-? to rive thte F-779 in place. I figured with the extra loads that part would see, the bigger rivets might be a good thing and Van's didn't have a problem with that change.

Phil/Mel -

Thanks for the responses. Assuming Van's says it's okay, that's what I'll do - drill to #30 and use an oops rivet.