JVolkober

Well Known Member
I am new builder ? RV9A.. I finally got to the point of riveting my HS. Yesterday I completed the right half and started the left. As I was attaching the ribs to the right side of the forward spar, I noticed white spots and pitting. It looks like corrosion to me, however, I am no expert, more like a rank beginner. From reviewing the corrosion sections of Aircraft Inspection, Repair and Alterations, I believe it is either pitting corrosion, concentration cell corrosion or intergranular corrosion (they said this would be a learning experience). Pictures are attached. If it is, I fear that I will have to scrap the whole HS and s tart over. I figure the cost of purchasing all the parts will run around $450. Then there is the more than a few hours spent getting this far.

The surfaces are all treated an ati-corrosion trantment from Sanchem, Sanchem cc6100. They have been in my shop (garage) for about two weeks since I treated them. The pitting developed over that time.

I am looking for comments and suggestions about this situation and what my options might be.

pix38pm.jpg

pix27ep.jpg

Last edited:
Do you have swimming pool chemicals stored in your garage? If so get them out. From your pictures and the short time in storage, you could have a chemical exposure problem.
Mel...DAR

JVolkober said:
The surfaces are all treated an ati-corrosion trantment from Sanchem, Sanchem cc6100. They have been in my shop (garage) for about two weeks since I treated them. The pitting developed over that time.

I'm never used Sanchem products but is it possible you didn't wash off an etching liquid? It looks like you used an acid etch on the aluminum and didn't rense it off. 2 weeks for the pitting to develop seems very quick.