dweyant

Well Known Member
Hi,

I'm a fairly new pilot (6/30/2012). I currently co-own a Cessna Cardinal that I'm really enjoying. I'm also just starting to work on my Instrument rating.

A friend mentioned the idea of building a plane to me a while ago, and the more I research it, the more intrigued I am by the idea.

I've spent some time reading this forum, and researching the different RV models, and while the RV-14 looks really interesting, I think the 9A would probably fit my mission the best.

I could use some help with suggestions on how to start. I'm not in any big hurry to get started (I have a plane to fly), but I'd like to start reading and learning about what I'm considering getting myself into.

I'm also a bit concerned about my somewhat lacking skills. I have no experience with any sort of metalworking. I've done some basic wood working, but nothing with metal.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

-Dan

Join EAA

Then join a local chapter. They typically meet one evening per month. Go to the first meeting, stand up, introduce yourself, and mention that you're thinking of building. You'll probably find that more than one person will offer to show you their project. This could lead to rides and offers to have you assist. If you're still interested at that point, you should look for one of the weekend builder intro classes. Personally, I'd hold onto the Cardinal and work toward an instrument ticket. At this point in your flying, keeping at it is more important than taking a couple of years off to build. The Cardinal is a great aircraft to travel and train in. You'll eventually find the RV9A to handle similarly in terms of stability. The shorter winged RVs are "sportier" in terms of roll rate and stability.
Terry, CFI
RV9A N323TP