Loman

Well Known Member
I have come across a used O-320 engine for sale and I am interested in it for my RV-9 build. I can't see how I can ever afford a new or factory re-built engine and it is very tempting to get an engine that works at a reasonable price.

I am very new to aviation so I really don't have the knowledge to assess this properly. I would appreciate any advice that you guys have to offer.

I know from independent sources that this is a good and reliable unit, which has given 7 years of great service on a Lancair and is now being swapped out due to an upgrade to a 200hp engine. The engine is an O-320 A model. I don't have the full designation and I suspect that may not be very relevant for an engine of its age that has been changed a lot. It is a NARROWDECK of 150hp with a low compression set-up. It is fitted with Lightspeed ignition. Unusually, the mount is a Dynafocal. The bottom end was completely rebuild 600 hours ago and the heads were reworked 450 hours ago. In both cases the machining was outsourced and the owner rebuilt the engine himself. A new carb was added 450 hours ago. There is currently a slow oil leak which is probably the main seal. I doubt that there is a complete log available.

From reading previous posts on narrowdeck O-320s, I see there are different opinions on parts availability and cost, conical mounts seem to be a problem and there is a lot of discussion about hold-down plates. This issue seems mainly to relate to conversions to a high-compression 160hp set-up in which I have no interest. Apparently,these engines are lighter, which does interest me.

Included is an exhaust (to suit a Lancair), carb, baffling and oil pre-heater. The price is $8k. Other posters have said that narrowdeck O-320 cores should go for about $5K but maybe the extras make up for this.

Am I crazy to be thinking of this? What factors should I consider?

Last edited: