As long as you do not need VOR/LOC/GS capability, an A210 will work just fine.

Plenty of VFR birds out there with similar setups...

Check out the XCOM 760. I love mine and have used it for four years. Great intercom built in.

Bob

Flight Line 760

I've been using this radio for the last 4 months and am pleased with it.

Its easy to use and seems to work well in both the xmit & rx mode.

It has a built in intercomm but I'm using an external one.

It fits in a standard 2-1/4" hole.

I think I paid about $600 for the thing.

Dave
-9A flying

The A210 is a piece of CRAPPP.
Couldn't disagree more. At $900 an A210 with the latest firmware upgrade is easily the best bang-for-the-buck radio on the market today. Built-in intercom, aux input for your MP3 player, connectivity to your GPS for audio and frequency transfer, standby frequency monitoring, etc.

The XCom may offer some of those as well, i'm not sure. But it's a different form-factor so that may or may not interest you. I prefer the large screen with big letters on the iCom.

Couldn't disagree more. At $900 an A210 with the latest firmware upgrade is easily the best bang-for-the-buck radio on the market today. Built-in intercom, aux input for your MP3 player, connectivity to your GPS for audio and frequency transfer, standby frequency monitoring, etc.

The XCom may offer some of those as well, i'm not sure. But it's a different form-factor so that may or may not interest you. I prefer the large screen with big letters on the iCom.

You haven't experienced cable proplems yet... it's coming.

It's been in and out of the panel a dozen times for various un-radio-related reasons, and I haven't managed to break a cable yet. But I did get a spare from iCom when I took it in to have the firmware updated. The spare lives in my toolbox just in case I ever need it. I can't imagine why I would though.

The A200 is a FAR better radio... the ribbon cable on the A210 will haunt you forever.