Tom Martin

Well Known Member
I have been using computers in my business for almost 25 years. Over the last few years I find that I am way behind the curve in my knowledge of the most basic of computer skills. I have an iphone, ipad, new TV, effis etc and increasingly I am finding set up to be more and more difficult, not less. Somehow I have moved from being an innovator in technology to someone who illicits sighs from those in the know when I express frustration with ?I cannot make it work? comments.
Typically this happens when I am calling a supplier with an install question. I have followed the online instructions but find that I have been stymied by a lack of common herd knowledge. For example, not knowing that there is a lock on an SD card. I hang my head in shame following that brief, but incredulous silence, on the other end of the phone line.
However if I was to tell someone that I wanted to build a metal airplane there are an amazing number of individuals who will bend over backwards, take my hand and teach me not only how to rivet, but the difference in rivets, guns, air pressure, etc etc. All of this is done with not the least bit of distain about my lack of the most basic metal work skills. It is expected that I know nothing about rivets and that is ok, no problem. For some reason it is assumed the everyone knows how to unzip files and move them from one medium to another, or how to make your new glass gadget stop shouting at you when you clearly have enough fuel for the trip.
My name is Tom Martin and I am a computer illiterate. Am I the only one?

I agree although I've caught others on the lock on the SIMM card!

I have somewhat the opposite issue. I wrote my first FORTRAN program in 1972 - on paper punch tape - and went through punch cards and the first editors and debuggers and onto CRTs and then early PCs etc etc.