phillip.proctor

I'm New Here
Hello All,

My name is Phil and I am a student at Utah State University in their aviation maintenance management program. A friend of mine provided me with a Mustang Aero Midget Mustang (minus the engine) that he and his father built. An A&P somehow crash it just a few yards off the runway and it has minor wing rib and nacelle damage.

Our school has an old RV-6 kit sitting around and I got approval from my instructor to start wrenching on it. The rudder and elevators have been completed and the two wings are near completion. I have 3 sets of mix matched plans that were lying around and am basically wanting to work on this plane before moving on to my Midget so that I can get some experience and make the mistakes on someone else's plane.

I am not currently a pilot but want to in the next 3-5 years. My school offers a summer program for $7,500 to get your private in glass cockpit DA-40's. I am thinking that is a good deal and would get me some good experience. I want to go as far as IFR rating for insurance/experience purposes. If any of you can pass some help my way on where to start on either of these two kits I can work on that would be awesome. I am only in my second semester of the maintenance program so I don't know a ton yet. Thanks. Phil

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Hello All, My name is Phil

Hello Phil, and welcome aboard the good ship VAF.

It is really good to see another young member here, thanks for checking in.

What are the chances you could get ownership of the RV6, maybe trade the MM for it???

I think you would be way ahead with the RV vs. the MM.

Have you ever gotten a ride in an RV???