Smilin' Jack

Well Known Member
Paul Dye, Ironman wrote an article about the coiled vent he installed on his awesome RV3.
I sent him an idea and for folks who do not have their wings built via the slow build method perhaps this is an alternate idea on the coiled vent .
Would like any thoughts!
Originally Posted by Smilin' Jack
Paul,
I was reading an article about the coiled vent you used on the RV3, i am not an aeronautical engineer but realizing every jet I have flown has the fuel vents out on the wing tip. I think you could run the vent line outward to the last rib then coil it like you did and drop the vent out the tip and it would be at the highest point of the dihedral on the wing, definately easier and higher coils than squeezing it into the wing root. Understand when building your vent rib of the tank it would be just outboard of the fuel cap. That would be the outboard rib of the tank instead of the inboard most rib of the tank. There would be no reason to run the vent line the entire length of the fuel tank like we currently do and the total run out to the wing tip would only be slightly longer than what we currently doing. This would place the top of the coils above the top of the vent tube in the tank and probably stop any weeping of fuel.
What do you think?.. I am too far out in left field? If I would have thought about this last year when building my wings I might have tried this. I know that in our jets they all incorporate a fuel float test to shut off the single point refueling system when the aircraft tanks are full.

Thus, failure of not testing the fuel vent float results the fuel not shutting off and venting it all overboard at the rate the fuel is being delivered to the aircraft. This type of vent float would not be required since we are visually fueling the aircraft and we can not put more fuel into the tank than the fuel cap opening will allow. If a fellow wanted to install tip tanks the vent is already there.

What do you think?.