RobertD

Well Known Member
I've been flying my -6A for a few years now, and have never really addressed the issue of what to do with "stuff" in the cockpit. I generally just shove charts, plates, checklist, whatever into the space between the seats. Kinda works, but not really, and not good for miscellaneous loose things like spare batteries, etc.
I've seen some armrest storage units that look ok, but when I start designing one it seems it has to be mighty slim to fit between the seats.
I've recently been eyeing the space on the floor between the spar and the battery box. My -6A doesn't have the center console (uses a small subpanel for engine controls), so this would seem to be a good spot.
Has anyone mounted some sort of storage box in this space? It would have to be fixed to the floor but also easily removable for the inevitable trips under the panel.
I figured before I start serious cogitating on this I'd ask what y'all might have already done.
TIA

.......never really addressed the issue of what to do with "stuff" in the cockpit........TIA
In one way or another, this general technique has been done before. My quickly removable variation includes .025 aluminum attached to the structure with 4 screws and nutplates. Just to be different, I added "RV-6A" lightening holes as an afterthought. Using the space, I stow all manner of items including a rudder stop, the pitot tube cover and cloth pouch containing the 3 tie down rings.

28s8qw9.jpg

Bison Mountain RV Flight Bag

i have a black bison mountain rv flight bag that is fitted custom for rv side by sides that is very nice. sold by classic aero designs, acs, and direct from bison mountain.

screenshot20100403at952.png

Rick, are those storage slots accessible to you in flight? I'm wondering if you can reach the one behind the passenger seat. The one behind the pilot I would imagine is out of reach.