humptybump

Well Known Member
I've been flying with my Clarity Aloft for about 8 months now and have tried a few different options for the replacement ear tips. Ime sure others have gone thru this excercise and others eventually will so I ought I'd share my notes. Here is the condensed version (normalized to a score of 100) ...

Clarity Aloft with original foam eartips ? 100
David Clark 13.4 with gel ear cups ? 85
Clarity Aloft with Radian custom molded ear plugs ? 80
Clarity Aloft with Etymotic triple flange ear tips ? 95

The full write up is here.

photo2-320x239.jpg

Shure rubber trees

Humpty,

I have been using the Shure rubber trees for years now. I think they might be the same (or similar) as the Etymotics. I love them too - clean them when they need it and they seem to last forever.

Here is where I found them cheapest:

http://goo.gl/hHqjj

The rubber tips remove the only drawback to to the CA headset, the cost of the tips!

Pete, those Shure tips look just about the same (the stems are a little longer which shouldn't make a difference).

I concur - the tripple flange tips are a simple and convenient "upgrade" :)

8 months and you already need new eartips? Wow.

I have had mine for a couple of years and use them for work, and my personal flying. I am only on my 3rd pair of tips in about 800 hours taking them in and out a few times a flight. They get beat up more going in and out of the case.

I am very careful about how I compress them before inserting, but that is mostly so I do not twist the wire and break it. I will also admit that I am obsessive compusive about cleaning my ears. Tips really do not change color over time, the outer slick part starts to degrade and become more porus or breaks down. That is how I know it is time to replace them.

I will look into the tree types when I need to order more. I'm guessing in a year or two.

Mark

Last edited: