iowaflyer

First time poster here--so please be gentle. BTW, I have checked the archives but wanted to get some new opinions.

I've just ordered the empennage kit for an RV-7. I'm trying to finalize my choices with regards to prop and engine. I know I want a non-certified FI IO-360 (IO-360-M1B) and I THINK that I want the horizontal induction with the forward facing induction (cold air). For simplicity, I'm going to stick with good old mags.

My questions:

Who should I get the engine from? I've priced out Mattituck and Aerosport power for a new engine. They both tell me that only new engines are available; overhauled are very hard to find and the price difference isn't that great anyway. Anybody else to consider? Is there anyone that can provide an OH'd engine?

Is the cold-air induction worth it?

I'm a first time builder and want to keep things relatively simple. Is the above setup with a Hartzell blended airfoil CS prop going to generally work OK with the Van's-supplied cowl/mount/firewall forward kit without much modification?

Any other suggestions/modifications to my engine choice?

74" or 72" prop?

Thanks in advance--I appreciate the great advice that the forums provide and I'm sure I'll have plenty of questions later on.

If you go with horizontal induction, make sure to check with Vans on what, if any, fabrication is necessary to route your intake air from the filtered air box, which is typically placed just inside the cowling air inlet on the left side. This may add a complication that you wouldnt have to deal with using vertical induction. It will defintiely save time to use an engine that Vans has a standard kit setup for.

Are you sure you dont want to consider electronic ignition, at least on one side? There's really nothing complex about it, and it has definite advantages.

erich