E-mail address

Thanks for posting this, Doug. Watch out if you simply click on the link in the PDF to send E-mail to Miguel Vasconcelos - it has a typo. The correct address is as printed: [email protected]

Trying to help

I want to send a note to the FAA and alcon helping "our cause" but I am new to the rules and not sure what to write.

"Amature / experimental" airplane construction seems to be treated much differently than building a kit car or chopper motorcycle. I see the need for inspections and test period but, the 51% rule seems arbitrary and capricious on the part of the FAA.

I Plan to own and fly a Vans RV-4. I would love to buy it from a bussiness that would custom build one for me. The same way Orange county choppers builds motorcycles on TV. I know its illeagle to do that VS a buyer beware purchase of a Used bird that I will have to pay A&P mechanics to modify.

What is the true spirit and intent of the 51% rule. Seems to be to protect the establsihed aircraft manufacturers. Is it possible to have it resended?

Perhaps one of the old hands can draft then post a note that I can Email and snail mail off to those folks who will decide this. Love how this post has interested person I can Email when i have the best words penned.

Thanks, Dan

I think it's well written and fair.

It protects and rewards those who have earnestly learned new skills and knowlege, and rewards them with the right fly their aircraft within a complex highly regulated airspace system.

It similarly protects above builders from losing their priveldges due to the actions of well funded persons trying to get a new high performance aircraft without paying the price of a certified aircraft.

As usual, it only takes few to ruin a good thing for everyone and this regulation seems to offer excellelant protection for the experimental aircraft community.