GrayHawk

Well Known Member
I tried several searches using a combination of different search terms, and did find one thread about bluetooth; which is not what I want.

This question is purely technical & without regard to any legalities:

Has anyone sucessfully integrated and used a cell phone in the cockpit intercom system? I realize you would need to be in the beam of the specific cell towers. I am mainly interested in what might have been used for a wired solution (not blue tooth). It would be nice to send voice or text in case a flight change is needed in the air.

Thanks

Last edited:
There are connections that can be done with several intercoms. I am not an expert on that so I will let such said experts respond to that question. However, I do have headsets that have a patch cord that allows me to plug a cell phone directly into the headset cord. This allows me to then use the cell phone with the headset.

There should not be too much difference in using the intercom but, as I said, I will let the experts speak to that directly.

Yes, this has been done with many installations that used our field trail wireless intercom system (Sorry, we decided not to put this into production due to lack of resources).
Only issue ( a significant one ) is that cell phone reception is extremely poor at any kind of altitude as the towers concentrate their energy in the horizontal plane or beam downwards if they are elevated.
Once you are in the air you quickly realize just how spotty cell phone coverage realy is.

Rainier
CEO MGL Avionics

I tried several searches using a combination of different search terms, and did find one thread about bluetooth; which is not what I want.