Flybuddy2

Well Known Member
Has anyone flown the same plane with both props??
I've got my Catto prop currently with Craig Catto getting a refurb done. Overall they are good props and IMO they get better performance, are smoother running and a bunch lighter. Conversely, the Sensenich is a bolt on and forget prop, no worries about heavy rain or retorquing. I've dabbled with putting the Catto up for trade on the classified section when it comes back but I'm undecided. I'm fairly new to the RV group, what's the consensus?? thx Tom

No comment on the comparison but please make sure you check with your FSDO when doing the prop change. Our FSDO requires a five hour test period for such a change.

No comment on the comparison but please make sure you check with your FSDO when doing the prop change. Our FSDO requires a five hour test period for such a change.

It's all about the oplims for the plane. Older oplims do not have the major change notification requirement while newer ones do.

Having just done a very similar switch on my RV-4 I can give you my data:

I did lose a bit of speed, but its an apples/oranges comparison. I had a combo pitched Sensenich and the Catto is a climb pitch.

The climb performance is astonishingly different. It feels like a new plane. Cruise was 2600RPM limit on the Sensenich vs I can easily overrun the 2700 RPM on the Catto. Speed difference is maybe 3-5MPH. The lighter prop is faster to spin up and respond, it feels much more sporty.

I bought the Catto (2 blade) used. I sent it back to Craig to get refinished and repitched 50RPM lower - he nailed it.