tkatc

Well Known Member
Lots of talk of canopies lately. Anyway, I have a Todd's canopy and I'm about to order the finish kit before the price increase. I hear that Van's skirt does not fit a Todd's canopy very well. Some say to delete Van's skirt and just fabricate your own as it will fit the canopy better.

I have never done any glass before, so would I be better modifying Van's ill fitting skirt or starting from scratch?

If fabricating my own, how is this done?

Pictures please!

Adjusting the skirt for Todd

I'm not sure I can give you a quick answer to this one. I cracked my Van's canopy and replaced it with a Todd's canopy. The skirt didn't fit well at all. I ended up cutting off the upper flange that fits to the canopy and cutting off the rear 1/4 or so, that fit neither the canopy nor the fuselage. Using the techniques described by Dan Horton in the fiberglass section, I laid up the areas that needed replacement. There was significant work involved but it came out pretty well.

Read all of Dan's instructions and then give it a try. Fiberglass is very forgiving. If you make an error, just cut it off or sand it down and do it over. I started this project with zero experience with fiberglass and developed some really useful skills. Despite the dust, it is pretty fun to make stuff.

Regards,

Michael Wynn
RV 8 Finishing
San Ramon, CA

I hear that Van's skirt does not fit a Todd's canopy very well.

In general the skirt is a challenge to fit. It doesn't matter if you are using Van's or Todd's canopy. I have a Todd's canopy and with some patience was able to get a very nice fit. There are plenty of good tips in the archive about placement and fitting of the skirt.

Unless you have a burning desire to learn how to build fiberglass parts I would avoid building one from scratch. Work with Van's skirt and modify as necessary to get the fit desired.