danielhv

Well Known Member
If so what are the steps to get the layers to bond? Im thinking about adding an extra layer to the stiffeners just because I am paranoid and dont want to have to cut into the rear baffle in the future. :(

Mil-Spec says...

If so what are the steps to get the layers to bond? Im thinking about adding an extra layer to the stiffeners just because I am paranoid and dont want to have to cut into the rear baffle in the future. :(

...it's OK. It is required to be able to bond to itself.

Just make sure it is clean with your usual cleaning/degreasing procedures.

...it's OK. It is required to be able to bond to itself.

Just make sure it is clean with your usual cleaning/degreasing procedures.

Now when you say cleaning/degreasing procedures... thats just everywhere AROUND the existing proseal correct? Surely I wouldnt scotchbrite the existing proseal and then wipe it down with MEK correct? :confused: Sorry if thats a dumb question, Im new at this nasty stuff! :eek:

As long as you have never had fuel in it, and have never had a leak through the area you will be ok.

Proseal over Proseal

As long as you have never had fuel in it, and have never had a leak through the area you will be ok.

I disagree. I had a couple of weeping rivits in my QB fuel tanks and after draining all fuel and letting the tank airdry for about a week I cut an access panel in the rear and dopped proseal over the same area that had previously had proseal to fix the weeping rivets.

Instant success and after 50 hours and multiple full fuel loads no more weeping rivets.

I faced this issue, too