TCONROY

Well Known Member
I'm an RV-7A builder with the emp complete and wings on order. I know I'm at least a year and a half away from needing a fuel pump, but I'm trying to educate myself now so I know what to buy later with the fuselage. Can someone explain why the Andair pump and filter being offered in the group buy is better than the one from Van's? I've seen pictures of all the tubing that must be bent in the "tunnel" to connect the Van's fuel pump, selector, injected return line..etc. Does the Andair assembly eliminate all that fuel line that must be bent for the various items in the tunnel?

Any input would be appreciated.

I'm an RV-7A builder with the emp complete and wings on order. I know I'm at least a year and a half away from needing a fuel pump, but I'm trying to educate myself now so I know what to buy later with the fuselage. Can someone explain why the Andair pump and filter being offered in the group buy is better than the one from Van's? I've seen pictures of all the tubing that must be bent in the "tunnel" to connect the Van's fuel pump, selector, injected return line..etc. Does the Andair assembly eliminate all that fuel line that must be bent for the various items in the tunnel?

Any input would be appreciated.

The Andair pump does reduce plumbing complexity by offering an option of going with an internally regulated pressure system. Instead of requiring a return line (or external loop) for fuel by-passed by an external regulator, the new Andair does all this internally. The electric pump currently used is not internally regulated and will produce over 100 psi if not regulated.

The problem I have with the concept is heat. Fuel circulated back through the pump, be it through a loop or internally within the pump, is going to heat up, the heat being generated by a the pump motor and pressure. That is not a good thing. As the temperature of fuel goes up, its vapor lock thresh-hold goes down.