Jello53

I'm New Here
Hi guys,

I've been drooling over the idea of building an RV for some time now. However, I have no piloting experience. Is it unreasonable for me to think that I can build an RV, take a flight course at the same time, and then transition to my completed RV with only 25-30 hours of total flight time experience, in a Cessna 152?

Would I be better off buildilng an RV-9 than an RV-7 since it is less responsive?

I'd like to hear your recommendations on this.

Regards,

JP

You could learn to fly in your RV. There is no reason that you could not fly an RV with minimum flying experience.

Welcome,
good question too.
I'll give you my experience for what it's worth.
I trained on Piper low-wings back in the 80's, then Cessna's later, about 35 hours in each. ( don't ask why).
When it came time to buy a plane, and get RE-trained, I went for what I was most comfortable with, and could find an instructor and insurance for.

Try flying as many aircraft as you can. I liked the Glastar, but not the visibility up and out. I tried an RV-6a, and loved the vis, but found it a little 'hot' for my conservative tastes, or comfort level.
In the -9a, I was comfortable right away, and the approach speeds reminded me of the trainers I had flown. Even now with only about 20 hours on my -9a, it's hard to make a bad landing; there's always a little bit of roll control and rudder left to straighten out or pitch up when needed.
I may get tired of it one day, and want to go looping round the sky, but for now it is a perfect fit.

best of luck with your choice!

Would I be better off buildilng an RV-9 than an RV-7 since it is less responsive?

JP

Oh boy....here we go again!!! ;)

To answer your question, I see no reason why a guy couldn't transition from a C152 to an RV fairly easily with some qualitiy instruction. Its probably a good game plan to learn the basics in someone else's (rental) airplane.....and get most of those less-than-perfect landings behind you. Go for it!