Marty Rogers

I'm New Here
Hi VansAirforce,
I'm new to Experimental aircraft and have an opportunity to purchase a partially completed project. I have a few questions; 1. Is is legal to do so? 2. If so will I then become the builder with maintenance privileges, etc.? 3. Or will this now become some sort of hibred project. If someone could fill me in I'd greatly appreciate it. I'm very serious about building just don't want to get stuck with something I did not anticipate. I'm sure there will be enough of that along the was as it is.
Thanks for the help.
Marty

Hi Marty, and welcome to VAF.

What you are proposing is not only legal, but quite common. A very large percentage of amateur-built aircraft are completed by a 2nd or even 3rd owner of the project. The requirement is that the aircraft must be 51% amateur-built. It does matter who, or even how many amateur builders are involved.

From a maintenance standpoint, anyone can perform maintenance on an experimental amateur-built aircraft. The only requirement restricted to the builder is the annual condition inspection. To qualify for that, you must be listed as a primary builder and show that you can competently perform the inspection. (The 51% rule does not apply here).
If you can do this you can be issued a repairman certificate to perform the condition inspection on that particular aircraft.

If you buy a project, you will need to obtain all the original builders construction logs to show that the aircraft meets the 51% rule.

Last edited:
Thanks for the article from Van's good read. Looks like as long as I receive the builders logs and bill of sale with the original bill of sale from Van's and the builder logs check out OK. I should be able to get an Airworthiness Certificate. And as long as the prior owner has followed the 51% rule I should be able to get a repairmen certificate as well. Additionally, Van's recommends checking with the local FSDO.

Anything else?

Marty