Don Patrick

Well Known Member
Morning folks,

I'm a ways off yet to be buying or building an 0-360. I'm just researching and curious about everyones thoughts on either building an experimental kit engine like the Titan 0-360, or buying a new 0-360 or buying a used 0-360 and having it refurbished . I'm just a poor cop with 2 kids (my dear wife has allowed me to build!!) and am trying to build a plane over time.....I know that I will not settle for anything less than an 0-360, don't need or want an IO or constant speed for my RV-8.

Any comments, input, or good sources for an 0-360 that hasn't been "spanked" too hard or has had a prop strike would be welcomed. I have lots of time and want to research this as much as possible and value everyones input.

I am in Canada, but have no problem driving anywhere for a good deal. I do know the costs involved, but if I can save a little with a good engine...all is good!

Thanks

Don

Hi Don...

I, too, was poor and going through a divorce but I found a good engine by word of mouth, that had been taken out of a flipped Mooney, with 600 total hours.

My buddy found a good engine at Wentworth Aircraft salvage for $8,500 and it's flying in his -4....great engine.

What most builders don't realize, is that most don't fly more than 100 hours a year, so an engine with 1200 hours still has around 1000 hours left, during which time they can save for overhaul and learn how to do that themselves,

Best,

Buy or Build

For my RV-7 build project I bought an IO-360 ECI kit engine through an A&P who has a builder assist center here in Lubbock and over a weekend we (mostly he) put the engine together. With all new accessories I have less than $23,000.00 in the engine. An O-360 should come out a few thousand cheaper. If or when I need another IO-360 I will do it again.