jetpltrich

I'm New Here
Reviewing the plans for an eventual build of the RV-8. Is there any particular reason why the empennage is built first?

Rich

Its the easiest part to learn on ... takes up minimal space .. gives you good understanding of all the main processes. Riveting / dimpling etc... and when you screw up .. parts are low cost to replace ... If non of that apply to you .. start on whatever part you like :)

Another reason to start on the tail is its cheap. When you discover building is not for you...you can get out reasonably unscathed.

I understand the reasons and I'm sure you all think I'm nuts. I was a structures mechanic long before I was an airline pilot and my father I built a 3/4 scale Fw-190 which took 14 years to construct from scratch. If you do a google image search of N190DJ you'll see the aircraft.

Being constrained by a wife that is no longer I now want to build the RV-8 which I've fancied for some time now. I love working with aluminum and shot my first rivet at age 12.

I can't wait.

Rich

I think the best reason to start on the empennage is that those instructions are far more detailed. The manual gets more obscure the further along you get.

So for most builders, it really helps to build skills with in depth instruction, then by the time you get to the wings & fuse, you have the building/plan deciphering skills you need.

But if you're already fully skilled, then sure, jump in where you like.

Where to start

If you have good metal working skills, it probably doesn't matter where you start. One thing to consider is that the tail is easier to store than the wings and fuse.

a little different idea